Tags

color burst!

color burst!

The cold weather is hanging on. Someone needs to send Mother Nature a memo that we are quite finished with this cold spell.  Spring has sprung!  I’d like to spend more time in the garden without freezing my fingers off!  The only benefit of this cold weather  is that I can still wear my ‘made this season’ poncho.

the start of the cowl neck

the start of the cowl neck

When I saw this yarn in the This is Knit shop in Dublin (https://www.thisisknit.ie/index.php)((I really like this shop as the yarn I’ve bought there has been that little bit different.)) I didn’t even think twice, I straight away bought it … without having any idea what I was going to do with it.  Can you say “impulsive”???

cowl neck growing

cowl neck growing

The colours are just so fun! The yarn wasn’t cheap, so I was stingy in the amount that I bought. I would, of course, regret that later.

the poncho is growing

the poncho is growing

Right, so after buying the yarn I spent hours on Pinterest, as you do, looking for ideas of what to make.  I don’t even think it is possible to go onto Pinterest for just a moment, actually.  It completely sucks-me-in to looking at millions of different pages!  I love it!!!

bobbles

bobbles

Yes, yes, I do have a Pinterest Board ’cause where else am I going to put all of those fabulous ideas???  https://www.pinterest.com/danasheridan/

So the idea for the poncho was born, but I didn’t actually find a pattern that I loved completely.  I bought the pattern for one, but I only used the cowl neck portion of that pattern. Then I roughly followed the ‘much too difficult for me’ pattern of another, improvising along the way out of necessity.

poncho body improvised

poncho body improvised

The cowl neck took way more yarn than I would have liked.  I probably should have used a smaller hook. I’m sure you’ve guessed by now that not only did I run out of yarn too soon, the shop had sold out of it. But not to worry!  The distributors of this brand of Katia art wool at the Trim Wool Shop ( http://www.trimwoolshop.ie ) had this same colour in stock and would mail it to me.  They were super nice on the phone, and I was delighted…  Only the dye-lot was different; it was quite muted compared to the vibrant colouring of the neck.  I think the good news was that it toned down the poncho!

funky colours

funky colours

It was fun to make and figure out what I liked, and what I didn’t like.

Finished!

Finished!

The finished product is rather funky and fun and I can wear just about any colour with it!  I have to say that I really like it.  It is definitely a “one of a kind”!  🙂

Even though I love still getting a chance to wear my new poncho this season, I’d really like for the warm spring weather to arrive!

Peace,

Dana

a belated Happy St. Patrick's Day!

a belated Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

