Tags

,

Our littlest one's very pink room!

Our littlest one’s very pink room!

Today was such a lovely sunny day.  After a couple of weeks of gray darkness, the sun was a welcome change!  Over the Christmas break, my littlest one and I cleaned her room.  You wouldn’t think an eight year old’s room could get very untidy, would you?  Well, it took us an entire day! I had to capture it on camera while it still looked good.

A very pink room!

An antique “zig-zag” blanket.

We worked together in organizing her clothes, toys, books, dolls and room so that everything has a place.  Yeah, I know, I’ll be happy if it lasts even just a little while!  I love her room.  I think the pink is fun and cheerful.  She has some things from my childhood in there, too (antiques!?).   The blanket on the bed was made by my mother when I was eight.  We called it the zig zag pattern.

A ceramic music box.

A ceramic music box.

This music box little girl has been around for quite a few years!  My mother painted her in ceramics when I was a little girl. I loved pink back then, too.  My sister was given a blond girl with a blue dress, which matched her personality.  Happy memories!

Made with love.

Made with love.

There is a painting in her room, too.  It was painted by a local woman from where we used to live in Manlius, New York. I have three paintings by Terry Garwood as I love her style! It’s not surprising that there are flowers in the painting, is it?

Painting by Terry Garwood.

Painting by Terry Garwood.

I also love baby pictures.  This one is special because she is wearing a sweater that my grandmother had made when I was a baby.  I still have that sweater – packed away in my cedar chest!

My daughter is wearing a very special sweater in the top right picture.

My daughter is wearing a very special sweater in the top right picture.

Those are fairy lights at the top of the picture frame. She used to use them as a night light, but prefers the dark these days; a sure sign of her growing up. 😦

There was a light breeze coming in through the open window today.

There was a light breeze coming in through the open window today.

It really was a gorgeous day today.  I had all of the windows open in the house! I love her curtains, so simple and sweet.

Sweet little girl curtains.

Sweet little girl curtains.

Here is the view from her window to the side of the house:

The driveway & garden from the littlest one's bedroom window.

The driveway & garden from the littlest one’s bedroom window. We have a big garden project underway: my husband is building borders for our beds!

It just felt like a pink kind of a day.  Even the tulips given to me on Sunday were opening up!

Pink tulips.

Pink tulips.

Pink tulips in the sun.

Pink tulips in the sun.

I hope you have the chance to soak up some “pink” today!

Dana

