Tags

, ,

Orange Pumpkins!

Orange Pumpkins!

November?! Really?  I hope you won’t have forgotten me, as it’s been too long since I last posted!  I’ve missed you. 🙂  Lately I’ve been wearing two of my many different hats; Mom of Swimmers hat, and Mom of Irish Dancers hat.  We’ve all been working really hard!  After two months into the full swimming schedule our girls improved all of their racing times at the first swim gala (meet) a couple of weeks ago.  That’s a great way to start the season.   Our three Irish dancers have been working since the summer towards the Ulster Championship Feis, which took place this past week in Donegal . It’s harder for the littlest one to keep that focus for so long, but she did well. (She’s finally making progress on keeping those feet turned out!)   My kids also dance on teams, and it is just fantastic to watch as they keep their straight lines and perfect formations while dancing around the stage!  We are so proud of them.  They all danced their best, which is all we could ask for. It is rewarding to see the kids really putting their all into their activities and to watch them improve through their efforts.  Sometimes it takes more work than other times, but thankfully we’re all going in the right direction!

As for my Mom in the Garden hat, I too, have been putting in some “hard work”.  It’s called weeding!  The fence line is pretty much in constant need of clearing. I really like how it looks after I get a section finished.  It’s nothing glamorous, not really even picture worthy, but if it isn’t maintained it sure is noticeable! If you know me, you know that I’d rather spend a week weeding than even think about using chemicals.   I just think it is better for the environment and better for us.  The hard work is worth it, and it is great being outside.

Anyone curious about my pumpkins?  I had very green pumpkins when I cut them off of their vines in early October.  https://mominthegarden.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/the-race-is-on-green-or-orange-pumpkins-for-halloween/ I brought them inside, and placed them in sunny locations.  I was completely skeptical that they’d ever turn orange, they were *really* green,  but turn orange they did!  Little by little, the jack-o-lantern pumpkins completely changed color.  My cooking pumpkins were much slower to change, and have more of a marbled look.  Doesn’t matter, I am looking forward to making some pumpkin soup!

Pumpkin soup, and lovely orange pumpkins to decorate with.  Yes, that will be perfect for Thanksgiving in a few weeks.  No rushing into things for me!!!

Happy November 🙂

Dana

Beech hedging changing color  in October.

Beech hedging changing color in October.

Weeding along the fence of beech hedging.

Weeding along the fence of beech hedging.

A bird party on our house!

A bird party on our house! A little distraction while I was weeding.

Early morning mist on the apple tree and blueberry bush.

Early morning mist on the apple tree and blueberry bushes.

My favorite fall picture (so far!).

My favorite fall picture (so far!).

Calendula (apricot twist) still going strong!

Calendula (apricot twist) still going strong!

Burgundy Ice Floribunda Rose in October.

Burgundy Ice Floribunda Rose in October.

