Nativity in the snow

Nativity in the snow

It is Christmas eve and there is an excitement in the air!  Our kids were especially delighted that it actually snowed today, a rather uncommon occurrence where we live in Ireland.  It was so pretty to see.

A church in Corduff, Carrickmacross being dusted with snow

A church in Corduff, Carrickmacross being dusted with snow

My three kids and I were out and about in the snow

My three kids and I were out and about in the snow

They were completely giddy today!  There was such a relaxed feeling among them which was so nice to see.  We just had a few things to get done, and then my husband and I could join them in their giddiness! First on the list was icing my Christmas cake.

Marzipan covered fruit cake

Marzipan covered fruit cake

My daughter and husband made the marzipan icing and covered the fruit cake with it the other day.  Now all that was left was the white icing.  Last year I used a smooth fondant style. But this year I felt like making (an easier) snow icing.  It is made of egg whites, icing sugar, and glycerine.  Mix it all up, and throw it on the cake!

Snow icing covered fruit cake

Snow icing covered fruit cake

That is so much more my personality than a neat smooth fondant icing!  I really like the look.  I made a snowman to go on top of the cake, except my snowman is too big to fit in the cake container, and to be honest he is probably a bit big for the cake too!

Snowman cake topper

Snowman cake topper and a wee Christmas tree

I absolutely do not have the patience to make perfect little cute faces with icing. So when I finished this snowman I let out a whoop of relief! (can I say that?)  I was very happy with his face, while completely annoyed with the candycane. But enough was enough, and I surrendered to a less than perfect candycane in order to keep my sanity, and make room in the kitchen for my husband to cook us dinner.

Snowman (unfinished)

Snowman (unfinished)

Snowman with some cookies

Snowman with some cookies

My daughter made some cookies today, too. She set up one of the trees with Mr. Snowman. :-)

A bit of visiting, a bit of baking, a bit of shopping, all done in preparation for tomorrow!  It can be so easy for us to forget the meaning behind Christmas.  Hopefully, though, the kids will know in their hearts what Christmas is really all about.

Nativity ornament

The reason for the season.

Merry Christmas to all of my family and friends, including (and especially!) my blogging friends and followers!

In peace,
Dana

